Movie Reviews

Thursday, October 02, 2008

Film review: “Boogie Man”

Boogie Man

Boogie Man will tear at your American (and allegedly forgiving) soul in ways that no other documentary has done before. As much as the tragic end of scumbag Republican strategist Lee Atwater’s life is compelling in the most push-out-the-piss kinda way, as the credits roll you’re left with a horrific and crisp vision of just how despicable and rotten Washington gamers can really be. Boogie Man also very deftly (and sometimes quietly) lays bare how unjustifiably rewarded and adulated flagrantly reckless and mean-spirited spinheads like Atwater have been by the members of our complicit, junk-hungry media.

Atwater, as some of you may know, was Karl Rove’s mentor (you know what a smoldering pile of offal he is—no need to go there).  And Rove begat Steve Schmidt, the oddly-skewed baldheaded mule spawn who’s been recently seen burping up detritus in support of his paid-to-love-him guy John McCain. That’s why this doc is an important arrival now. As much as you may be relishing the recent apparent flaming destruction of the McCain-Palin campaign, after viewing this documentary, you should be concerned that Schmidt could still pull some wild, ill-conceived Atwater-style bottom-dwellerism outta his keester that will, inexplicably, click with a majority of voters and pull the gate down, once again, on what seemed like the Obvious Choice.

read the whole post »

Posted by Kevin K. on 10/02/08 at 11:20 AM
Permalink

Categories: MoviesMovie ReviewsPoliticsBushCoElection '08NuttersOur Stupid Media

Friday, September 19, 2008

Bucket of Stuff

Sorry, been busy with important stuff and not-so-important stuff (emptying the contents of my jammed-up DVR into my eye ‘n’ ear holes*).

Here are a few things to check out before I tear myself away from the World Wide Magnet again…

And this is probably the best review (comment #16) of David Zucker’s upcoming, sure-to-be-horrible/unsuccessful wanknut “satire” An American Carol you’re likely to read:

Sweet, Bill O’Reilly in a comedic role. People getting slapped. Gary Coleman talking about bacon. I feel like someone took a shit into my ass.

read the whole post »

Posted by Kevin K. on 09/19/08 at 12:40 PM
Permalink

Categories: MoviesMovie ReviewsNewsPoliticsBarack ObamaElection '08St. McSameTelevisionSarah Palin

Monday, August 18, 2008

Cone O’ Doom

Like many Floridians, I know how to make coffee on a grill. I hope I don’t have an opportunity to re-use that skill for the first time since 2004 over the next few days. But the hurricane forecast Cone O’ Doom has the Cracker Compound squarely in its cross-hairs at the moment. In the interim, a few random things that piss me off:

McSame attending hurricane briefings.

“The good news is, obviously, no state is better prepared or organized to deal with whatever comes this way than the state of Florida,” McCain told reporters after his briefing.

McCain has long criticized the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s reaction to Hurricane Katrina, which inundated New Orleans and much of the Gulf Coast.  He blamed poor leadership in the storm’s aftermath.

Bullshit. McCain was yukking it up and engaging in a Marie Antoinettish bout of cake-brandishing with Chimpy on the day Katrina drowned New Orleans. How the fuck would he know how prepared Florida is for a hurricane? Because Governor Sunlamp told him so?

I was at the grocery store yesterday to lay in a week’s supply of beer, and it was like the fall of Saigon. I had to use my shopping cart as a battering ram to plow through the crowds of panicky retirees fighting over the few remaining jugs of water. Jesus H. Christ filling celestial sandbags, you’d think they didn’t have perfectly good tubs and swimming pools at home.

US-Cuba relations prevent Hurricane Hunter planes from flying over Cuba to assess the storm.

Prior to the Bush administration’s ramped up hostility toward Cuba (a blatant pander to the elderly exile vote in South Florida), Hurricane Hunter planes were allowed to fly over Cuba to assess hurricanes. They shared all information obtained with the Cuban government. According to the Weather Channel, now they are restricted, so it’s tough for them to get a fix on storm strength and motion.

Yeah, the government of Cuba sucks, but is it really more oppressive and awful than, say Saudi Arabia, where women are barred from driving and voting and are required to scuttle around under drop cloths in public? Nice priorities, Chimpy.

No Country for Old Men.

Okay, I’m a HUGE Coen Brothers fan. I finally got my mitts on the DVD and watched it last night when I couldn’t sleep. I just have two questions: What the fuck? What the figgety fucking FUCK?

[CROSS-POSTED AT BETTY CRACKER]

Posted by Betty Cracker on 08/18/08 at 07:24 AM
Permalink

Categories: MoviesMovie ReviewsNewsPoliticsBushCoElection '08St. McSame

Sunday, August 17, 2008

Tropic Thunder

image

Interesting movie ... picks up speed and had me rolling pretty hard at the end. This is one where your own movie experiences and familiarity with Hollywood probably help or hurt. Stiller follows the typical Hollywood war movie formula, but uses creative absurdities and parody to give a sub-layer of humor that I’m not sure everyone got. If you’re expecting the laughs to come only out of the dialog and surface images, you would probably label the movie as just OK. If you perceive the parodies at various points, it might make you laugh out loud. My date didn’t enjoy it as much as I did, but she thought I looked pretty funny giggling throughout. Ben Stiller, Matthew McConaughey, Robert Downey, and Tom Cruise were all quite excellent in their roles. Anyone else see it?

MORE: Ben Stiller’s appearance on The Daily Show with Jon Stewart ~ scene with Robert Downey, Jr.

Posted by poputonian on 08/17/08 at 11:07 AM
Permalink

Categories: MoviesMovie Reviews

Saturday, January 26, 2008

Rambo IED

A great ending to Time Out New York‘s “non-review” of Rambo:

Which brings us to Rambo, the newest chapter in the saga of our tin soldier. The film hadn’t screened as of press time, although Internet chatter has divulged that John Rambo once again gets to unleash his blood-splattering fury on the cultural other, this time in Burma. Given the current nostalgia from the I-love-the-’80s generation and Stallone’s ongoing attempts at career resuscitation, it’s not that surprising that he’d bring back his second-most-popular creation. During a recent Q&A at online fanboy hangout Ain’t It Cool News, the star was asked why Rambo was “pussing out” on attacking Islamofascism; Stallone replied that it would be disrespectful to the soldiers who were actually dying fighting it.

The fact that it’s still ideologically disrespectful to present warfare as entertainment while men and women lose their lives isn’t mentioned, but if a fifth film gets greenlit, I’d like to propose a scenario. Send John Rambo to Iraq, where he’s given inadequate body armor and has his arms and legs blown off. The last shot finds the supersoldier once again ignored by his government at a decrepit Walter Reed hospital, left only to stare off into the distance. Only then will he have finally come full circle.

Posted by Kevin K. on 01/26/08 at 08:32 AM
Permalink

Categories: MoviesMovie ReviewsPoliticsWar In Error

Friday, January 25, 2008

Movie Review: “In Bruges”

In Bruges
Brendan Gleeson, Martin McDonagh & Colin Farrell (l to r) on the set of In Bruges, the best damn film I’ve seen in a very long time.

I had the privilege last night of viewing an advance screening of Martin McDonagh’s In Bruges and was quite literally blown away by it.  This buddy-crime dramedy is leagues better than any film I saw in 2007, including the overrated No Country for Old Men and There Will Be Blood, and, at the moment, I have a hard time believing it won’t be my favorite of 2008. McDonagh, who looks disturbingly like Sting, has written a screenplay jam-packed with dazzling dialogue and intriguing, well-placed plot twists.  It’s also uproariously funny, providing bigger (and better) laughs than anything that’s spuzzed its way out of Judd Apatow’s Doo Doo Pee Pee Academy.

In addition, the casting is nothing short of brilliant. Previous to his turn in this film, the only thing that has impressed me about Colin Farrell is his ability to use the word “fuck” more than the word “the” in casual conversations. As Ray, he expertly weaves a thoroughly convincing amount of pathos into a newly-minted hired killer who, for the most part, lives on the edge a pin and laughs his ass off whenever he loses his balance. He’s the epicenter of some of the best gags in the film and he never disappoints.  A career-making performance. The doughy and loveable Brendan Gleeson plays Ray’s mentor Ken, a seasoned and unlikely assassin, who serves as the voice of reason amidst a chaotic and ever-changing situation that was supposed to be anything but.  Gleeson adds layers of soul to man who has killed several people without blinking an eye. The normally eloquent Ralph Fiennes surprises as their expletive-laced, don’t-fuck-with-me boss Harry, who’s performance has been compared to Ben Kingley’s Don Logan in Sexy Beast, but he slowly massages Harry into a more complex and nuanced character than Logan, just stopping short of the point where you don’t want to see him die in a really horrible way.*  The rest of the cast is stellar as well, from “little person” Jordan Prentice, whose previous big role involved being stuffed into Howard the Duck’s costume, as the horse-tranquilizer-gobbling dwarf actor Jimmy, to Eric Godon, who plays Belgian antique and gun dealer Yuri, an odd man who turns the word “alcove” into one of the funniest utterances ever.

Hopefully this bloody and bombastic buddy film will find an audience, but the difficult title and the immensely clever but unconventional ending may hold it back.  Too bad, because In Bruges is just as good as anything in Tarantino’s oeuvre, including Pulp Fiction, which it’s more inventive than in several ways, and McDonagh’s craft richly deserves to be generously spread across as many needy eyes and ears as possible.  I’ll stop short of calling it a modern masterpiece, but there’s a little part of me that wants to pistol-whip myself into doing so.  It’s just that good.

* Since this review is getting some steady traffic from sites saying I’m giving away a plot point, I should clarify that I’m not saying that Harry dies in “a really horrible way,” just that I wanted him to. Maybe he dies, maybe he doesn’t. As I indicated, it’s a surprise ending.

[Limited US run begins on February 8th]

Links:

Posted by Kevin K. on 01/25/08 at 10:54 AM
Permalink

Categories: MoviesMovie Reviews

Sunday, January 20, 2008

The Sunday Selector: January 20th, 2008

John Prine & Iris DeMent - “In Spite of Ourselves”

Thursday, December 06, 2007

What to do the next few days in New York City

This is a quick reminder guide for my fellow Big Applets:

  • Williamsburg: Go to the Rwanda Reporting benefit tonight at Supreme Trading featuring a performance by Francis and the Lights, free hard-to-find Rwandan food and an hour’s worth of complimentary Bass beer. The donation is a measly $20.
  • Manhattan: Go to see the wonderful and unique documentary Billy the Kid that opened last night at the IFC Center for a limited engagement.  I haven’t had time to finish my review, but you can read some of the raves at Metacritic.
  • Manhattan: Go to see the long-awaited Holy Modal Rounders documentary Bound to Lose (and accompanying live music bonuses) at the Anthology during its one-week run (starts this Friday).

UPDATE: In comments the delightful and reliable Robin from oh. you. again. recommends buying tix for Au Revoir Parapluie (Farewell, Umbrella) at BAM in downtown Brooklyn. I’m doing that right now.

Posted by Kevin K. on 12/06/07 at 08:56 AM
Trackbacks (0) • Permalink

Categories: FoodMoviesMovie ReviewsMusicNew York CityBrooklynManhattan

Sunday, December 02, 2007

The Sunday Selector: December 2nd, 2007

Minutemen—“This Ain’t No Picnic”

Shortest.Selector.Ever.

Busy, busy, busy ... and no time to burrow for you, my loyal Roasters. Plus I need to rest up for Mudhoney performing the entire Superfuzz Bigmuff CD tonight. I hear they play something called grout rock.

  • THE DECEMBER 2007 MOVIE PREVIEW:  Always an informative and entertaining read from Dave Thomas at FREEloader.
  • FANTASTIC DOCUMENTARY COMING TO NYC: The wonderful and unique documentary Billy the Kid is opening this Wednesday, December 5th at the IFC Center in Manhattan for a limited engagement. Carve out some room for it if you live in NYC because it’s highly recommended. Make sure to check out the excellent trailer at the documentary’s web site (or these outtakes at YouTube).  You can read our review of it at some point tomorrow here at Rumproast.
  • OUR YUCK! MOMENT OF THE DAY: Missing the Moon alerts us to a reason to add one more entry to the rule book in NCAA basketball. They also teach us to never, ever fuck with transvestites.

UPDATE: A new entry for our horribly neglected Worst.Band.Name.Ever category. One of the bands opening for Mudhoney tonight is called Pissed Jeans. No matter how good they are a little part of me will always hate them for that.

Posted by Kevin K. on 12/02/07 at 01:40 PM
Trackbacks (0) • Permalink

Page 2 of 2 pages  <  1 2