Live Music Reviews

Saturday, October 06, 2012

Top Ten Reasons Why I’m a Democrat

(h/t and undying gratitude, TBogg)

You’re welcome, Roasters.  (Please persevere—don’t rob yourselves of the big finish.)

****UPDATE****

Just learned “Mr Showbiz,” above uses the “stage name” Third Eagle . . . more like Third Rail . . .

Posted by Bette Noir on 10/06/12 at 07:33 AM
Permalink

Saturday, June 13, 2009

Saturday Morning Music: Javelin’s “Education!” & “Soda Popinski”

I really enjoyed the two-man electro-boom box band Javelin last night at the FREEwilliamsburg Northside Festival showcase. They put on a fun, energetic show. Unsurprisingly, they’ve also released cool lil’ homemade videos as well. Check ‘em out below.  Short and sweet. All in all, it was a great event. Job well done by our good pals over at FW.

read the whole post »

Posted by Kevin K. on 06/13/09 at 11:21 AM
Permalink

Monday, June 08, 2009

Monday Morning Music: Adron’s “Never Have To Leave My Room Again”

Stumbled upon this amazing talent last night in Williamsburg, Brooklyn at the soon-to-close Black Betty.  Adron had a bass player and a guy playing a massive marimba backing her up and it was a hell of a show.  Most people at Black Betty’s were there for the Brazilian music dance party that followed her, but she blew everyone away. If Adron doesn’t break out, human beings completely suck. It’s just that simple.

You can check out Adron’s music at her official site and MySpace. If you like what you’ve heard, you can grab her album from iTunes here.

Posted by Kevin K. on 06/08/09 at 09:24 AM
Permalink

Friday, November 21, 2008

Live from row two


Music from Rumproast Clips on Vimeo.

Posted by poputonian on 11/21/08 at 05:57 PM
Permalink

Categories: MusicLive Music ReviewsMusic Videos

Monday, September 01, 2008

Early Concert Memories

Thanks be to google. Not only can it help you remember the day you saw Led Zeppelin in 1975, it will lead you to an actual audio recording of the concert. Amazing. Something I remember from that night: Robert Plant’s singing was pretty bad, especially on Stairway To Heaven. (The audio recording confirms it.) Something I learned from my googlings, but didn’t realize at the time, or have since forgotten: The show was one month before the release of their smash album Physical Graffiti, so I was hearing songs like Kashmir before the general public. Take a listen below.


Led Zeppelin Kashmir January 25, 1975 from Rumproast Clips on Vimeo.

One month earlier at the same venue (Market Square Arena) I had seen Deep Purple do outrageous songs like Smoke on the Water and Highway Star. Heh-heh. These were the High School years for me.

So what are your earliest concert memories?

Posted by poputonian on 09/01/08 at 10:07 AM
Permalink

Categories: MusicLive Music Reviews

Saturday, July 19, 2008

What is Deerhoof?

Deerhoof
Photo from last night’s Deerhoof show in Brooklyn via WNYC

This Wikipedia description of Deerhoof, which seems to have been removed, does about as good a job as possible at describing the band:

Although typically classified as an indie rock band, due to their having been on an indie rock label (Kill Rock Stars) for the entirety of their career, the mercurial and unconventional nature of Deerhoof’s music makes genre identification difficult, and perhaps inappropriate. But several recurring features can be said to constitute Deerhoof’s distinctive sound: unassuming vocal delivery set against hyper-expressive instrumental playing; an elastic approach to group dynamics and rhythm more akin to the rubato of classical music performance practice than rock; odd yet highly memorable melodies; harmonic sophistication and dissonance; disjointed, condensed, asymmetrical and otherwise unconventional song structures; raw and at times strident sound surfaces; improvisation; and general creative restlessness.

I saw Deerhoof last night over at Celebrate Brooklyn and, good cripes, were they stellar.  They’ve added a fourth member, guitarist Ed Rogriguez, and the interplay between him and John Dieterich definitely kicked things up a notch compared to the show I saw last summer (ed: whoops, it was two summers ago). Lead singer/bassist Satomi Matsuzaki was as adorable and captivating as ever and, man, Deerhoof’s founding member Greg Saunier is just a flat-out amazing drummer.  Possibly the best working the indie rock circuit these days. What he accomplished on stage last night with just a bass drum, snare and cymbal was inconceivable. They’re not really touring right now, but If they play near you anytime soon, make sure you go.

Here’s a great 9-minute doc about Deerhoof that includes concert footage with the band’s current lineup. Check it out:

MORE: Too funny.  Last night I announced to some friends and my wife Chris that I had developed a man crush on Saunier after watching him play.  It looks like I wasn’t alone:

...and though ive been a fan of Deerhoof as a collective force i also have an established man/crush [ on the basis of musical skill, silly ] on drummer Greg Saunier.

Posted by Kevin K. on 07/19/08 at 11:55 AM
Permalink

Sunday, April 27, 2008

Robyn Hitchcock & Gary Lucas perform two Captain Beefheart songs

Sorry for the lack of blogging.  I took a huge and tragic spill on a hill I had no business skateboarding down back when I was in college and, as a result, I occasionally throw my back out, so I’ve been laid out flat for the past two days.  Here’s a quickee post for you to enjoy and then I’m going to crawl back on the couch. 

Guitarist extraordinaire Gary Lucas hosted a “Beefheart Night” back on April 9th at the Knitting Factory here in NYC. Gary played with his fantastic all-instrumental Captain Beefheart cover band Fast ‘N’ Bulbous (their CD Pork Chop Blue Around the Rind is highly recommended) and several fans and friends of Don Van Vliet spoke in between the band’s two sets. David Lynch sent in a cool little video of himself reading “Pena,” too. The highlight was a surprise appearance by the legendary Robyn Hitchcock at the tail end of the evening, who performed three songs with Lucas accompanying him on the steel guitar.  A few weeks ago I uploaded my video of them doing “Sure ‘Nuff ‘N’ Yes I Do” to YouTube and yesterday Lucas contacted me to let me know that both he and Hitchock really enjoyed seeing it, so I uploaded their version of “China Pig” today (unfortunately, I didn’t record their last song “Click Clack”). Enjoy.

“China Pig”

“Sure ‘Nuff ‘N’ Yes I Do”

Posted by Kevin K. on 04/27/08 at 06:19 PM
Permalink

Wednesday, March 05, 2008

The World’s Worst Beastie Boys Live Review

Really shitty cell phone picture of the Beastie Boys' heads
Really shitty cell phone picture of the Beastie Boys’ heads

Went to see them last night at Terminal 5.  Not a bad venue, but the sound sucked. MCA wasn’t into it.  The tops of all of their heads looked great. The girl next to me said they “looked old.” She was what we refer to in the business as “an asshole.”  “Lighten Up” was cool because Mr. Fuzzy Head, who may or may not have been this guy, played the woo-woo machine. Some NJ fuck knuckle with raging neck fat really got into the encore (“Sabotage”). Guys were selling balloons of nitrous oxide (3 for $20) on the street after the show, something I’ve never seen in NYC before (after 17 years here, I don’t say that often).  On the subway ride home, I found out my wife Chris knows nearly all of the (discernible) lyrics to “B-Boy Bouillabaisse” (yet another reason I love her). We went to a really disgusting neighborhood diner because we hadn’t eaten dinner.  Afterwards I had “bad breath onion rings” (I didn’t realize the irony until this morning). The end.

Posted by Kevin K. on 03/05/08 at 08:15 AM
Permalink

Categories: MusicLive Music ReviewsNew York CityManhattan

Friday, October 12, 2007

The Ledgendary Stardust Cowboy

The Ledgendary Stardust Cowboy

David Bowie on the Legendary Stardust Cowboy (about 2:00 into this interview with Jules Holland):

He made positively the most cacophonous, awful records that had ever been made in the late 60s. [...]  And [a Mercury records exec] gave me this stack of singles by this guy and I thought they were unbelievably atrocious, but in that wonderful way that you couldn’t stop listening to them they were so awful. [...] And there’s a bugle solo in the middle [of the song “Paralyzed”] that’s to die for (laughs).  And he won me over.  And his name Stardust became part of the Ziggy Stardust name. That’s where I got the name Ziggy Stardust.

Recently I finally got a chance to see the Ledge open up for Daniel Johnston in a show in NYC that was curated by Bowie and, man, he didn’t disappoint. As his band (which featured bassist Klaus Fluoride of the Dead Kennedys) played their opening instrumental, the then 59-year-old Ledge crawled on his belly all the way from the side of the stage to his microphone.  They then ripped into a manic version (is there any other?) of “Paralyzed,” a song they performed twice that evening, and prior to the next tune, the Ledge removed his heavy gun holster and hurled it at a dangerous velocity into the crowd. Later he flung paper plates adorned with his siganture into the crowd and, yes, I’m the proud owner of one of them. It was rockin’ dementia at its finest.

Below you’ll find a few of the better Ledge videos on YouTube and an MP3 download of the rare “Standing in a Trashcan (Thinking About You)” that will be begging for a spot on your next mix CD for as long as you allow it to remain on your hard drive. Enjoy.

read the whole post »

Posted by Kevin K. on 10/12/07 at 07:11 AM
Trackbacks (0) • Permalink

Page 1 of 1 pages